Chiddy Bang (feat. Train) – Baby Roulette


Boy, talk about a song that on paper doesn’t make any damn sense for me to like. Hell, maybe in actuality, too. Some part of me feels like I have to post it just because I was so blindsided by liking it.

Here’s a rundown:

  • Train’s on the hook
  • and it’s a pretty good hook.
  • It’s built around an 8-bit video game sounding beat
  • and it’s a good beat
  • The song’s about safe sex.
  • Just pass the blunt ’cause I ain’t gonna babysit

So why’s it work? Hell if I know. I really shouldn’t like it but I do and I’m not sure what that means exactly. It’s a surprisingly solid pop track for all its components and it’s sure as shit the whole being greater than the sum of the parts. Somehow they covered just about every demographic with this song–the geeks get the video game beat, hip-hop’s naturally covered, and girls that don’t care about the music have Train. It’s either marketing genius or an artistic fluke. I don’t know but I like it.

Chiddy Bang (Ft. Train) {download} (rightclick>saveas…)

This entry was posted in Chiddy Bang, Train and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

