Okkervil River – Mermaid


I’m probably late with this one because I don’t actually remember putting it into my library. That’s not really too much of a surprise, as Okkervil River has always been a band I’ve had to let grow on me. I’m not quite sure why because it’s pretty clear upfront that Will Sheff is one of the best songwriters in the business today. I’ve never quite gotten a good hold on Okkervil River’s releases; I feel like I just haven’t been able to give them their due. They’ve got a new one coming in May, called I am Very Far and I’ve resolved to make sure I give it all the attention it deserves.

“Mermaid” is a song about the kind of half-human, half-fish that any great songwriter would write about. And it is beautiful. It is momentous. And talking about it any more feels silly.

(As a side note, this songs feels like where The Decemberists should have gone after Picaresque, what with the sea theme, accordion, and theatrical flair.)

Okkervil River – Mermaid {download}

This entry was posted in Okkervil River. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

