Doo-Wops & Hooligans


Earlier this year, co-writer Nikhil made a post about upcoming R&B acts. It’s time to divulge into some of those artists, starting with the man named Bruno Mars and his album, Doo-Wops & Hooligans.

As Nikhil said, this man really has a beautiful voice. Hands down. This, along with his song writing skills, makes for some great songs. I can’t lie, during the song Our First Time, his voice eerily reminded me of MJ. I know that’s saying a lot, but just what I hear. His pitch changes are incredible because he can create a good sound at different levels, something not all singers can do. Luckily for him, he has friends who are amazing producers, The Smeezingtons, who know how to bring the best out of him.

I don’t know if this album is necessarily a change in pace from what we’ve heard recently, but that doesn’t stop it from being good. I can’t lie, I’m surprised that I enjoyed this album. I wasn’t hooked when I heard Just The Way You Are, but the rest of this album shows his artistry. I’d recommend listening to it because Bruno Mars is a talented artist. I look forward to his future projects.

Notable Songs: Our First Time, Runaway Baby, Marry You, Talking to the Moon, Liquor Store Blues, The Other Side (This album has 10 songs. Yeah, it’s good buddy.)

This entry was posted in Bruno Mars, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

