Friday Night Lights


If you follow this blog, you may know that J. Cole is easily top 5 hip hop artists in my books (you are also really awesome and we appreciate the support). In my J. Cole post from a couple months ago, I mentioned an album titled Cole World that was supposed to reach your local torrent website sometime in the 4th quarter of this year. Well, that’s not happening any more. Instead, Mr. Jermaine Cole released his third mixtape Friday Night Lights this past week.

The concept series he has with his mixtape rivals the concept Kanye West did with his first three albums. To refresh your memory and preventing you from going to Kanye’s wiki page, the albums go College Dropout, Late Registration, Graduation. Cole’s mixtape series goes The Come Up, The Warm Up, Friday Night Lights. Both of these artists relate their musically inclined projects with their current status in life. Kanye went from a Roc-A-Fella producer, to the guy the Roc signed late, to an artist who went above and beyond initial expectations. J. Cole went with the whole, getting my name out there, to practicing and working hard on craft, to the whole “time to shine” theme. I think it’s genius. Opinions?

Anyways, Friday Night Lights is the fucking shit. Dope as hell. Every time I listen to this guy rap he keeps on impressing me. My favorite song right now is In the  Morning, assistance from Drake. I’m not one who throws the approval card at Drake, but this is definitely one of my favorites from him. He takes the whole concept of “morning” to another level. It is my belief that he actually recorded the verse in the morning, at least it sounds like it. Take a listen to this mixtape and I doubt you will be disappointed.

You can download it here

This entry was posted in J Cole. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

