Get Ready It’s A New Day


By Arvind.

Asher Roth made one of the biggest college anthems in “I Love College.” Personally, I think the song is great (especially the version with the original sample). A lot of critics who hear about this Asher Roth buzz label his stuff as frat rap and corny shit–to be honest, some of it is. If you’ve ever listened to his latest mixtape, Seared Foie Gras with Quince and Cranberry, you’d be crazy not to agree that some of his rhymes are just incredibly stupid but enjoyable to listen to. The thing is, Asher Roth has stated several times he doesn’t want to be labeled as this frat boy, college kid his whole career. He’ll never deny the truth of “I Love College” but that doesn’t mean there isn’t more to his music.

His latest single, G.R.I.N.D. (Get Ready It’s a New Day) is his first step to remove the college tag from himself. I remember when I first heard this song earlier in the year, I was thoroughly impressed. It may get a little corny at the end of the song when he talks about life, but I can’t help but agree with what he has to say. Most importantly, he says a quote that means a lot to me at this time in my life. I know you, the audience could/should give a shit about my personal life, but this line speaks to me more than a lot of my favorite Jay-Z songs. I’ll leave you with the music video (I have no idea how I missed this) and be ready for the kid from suburban Philly’s new album, The Spaghetti Tree.

“Happiness isn’t about getting what you want all the time, it’s about loving what you have”
— Asher Paul Roth.

This entry was posted in asher roth, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

