Recommended – Laura Marling – I Speak Because I Can


By Samuel.

I know I'm kind of late with this post.

[Video for “Devil’s Spoke” | Website | MySpace ]

Laura Marling is 20 years old.

But you wouldn’t know that from the music of her sophomore album, I Speak Because I Can.

The entire thing just reeks of maturity far beyond her years. I’m not sure how many cigarettes she had to smoke to get such a… smokey quality to her voice, but it lends to sense of age that the record carries. From dark blues-folk to excellent reflective lyrics, I Speak Because I Can would be worthy of a comeback album from an old folk singer whose been through the emotional gauntlet.

While the lead single from the record, “Devil’s Spoke” is a worthy attention-getter I ended up much preferring the third song, “Rambling Man.” It shows off her voice as well as her songwriting-ability. It’s also a fair indicator of the record’s better moments, when her backing band really adds punch–just wait for the song to hit one minute–without drawing away from Marling’s penchant for melody. Think of it as a more tasteful Mumford and Sons with a lot more maturity and better lyrics. And a 20 year old girl who could easily be 40.

“But if I sit here and weep
I’ll be blown over by the slightest of breeze.”

Laura Marling | Rambling Man

{download}

I’m not sure why there’s been this huge revival of Americana folk in English independent music recently, but I love it.
This entry was posted in Laura Marling, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

