Old Favorites: Devendra Banhart – This is the Way


By Samuel.

“Old Favorites” are songs that I’ve had for a long time that I still consistently listen to and enjoy despite their relative age. Not new and likely already well-known, “Old Favorites” are the songs that you share with new friends and the ones that make you balk when the old friends don’t know them.

Essentially a category of classics.

Ed. Note: I’m making this largely because my discovery of new music has been sharply impaired by my summer job. Luckily, I can listen to music at said job so while I may get a much smaller amount of music, I’ll still be able to go back through my library and find old stuff I’d forgotten. I’ll also be able to shoot through the new music that I am able to get.

Onto the music:

Devendra Banhart – This is the Way

[download]

I’m not entirely sure where I got the opening track for Devendra Banhart’s Rejoicing in the Hands, but “This is the Way” has been sitting on my computer for upwards of two or three years now. I think I got it from a friend’s mix. Over this time though, I’ve listened to the song at least a hundred times and have never even picked up the album. I doubt I’d be able to get past the first song as I’d want to play it over and over again.

“This is the Way” is a relaxing, easy acoustic track done with only Banhart’s soft lilting voice and an acoustic guitar following the melody. It’s the melody that I really love about this song, even if I can’t quite explain why. It’s catchy in a way that acoustic songs rarely are. It’s essentially Jack Johnson done right–acoustic and relaxing with a focus on melody over lyrical content. The lyrics are pretty weird, by the way, but that’s to be expected. Banhart was (willingly or unwillingly) part of the “freak folk” movement a few years back along with his friend Joanna Newsom.

Banhart also has a lot of weird pictures, but I think the one above best compliments the song. A bright sun overhead a weird Jesus-looking guy?

Yep.

This entry was posted in Devendra Banhart and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

