The Sweetest Damn Love Songs I Have


I’m starting to run out of songs to use for this blog, and may have to switch an avant-garde art blog where I’ll just post solid blocks of color every day and talk about the intimacy that is lacking today. But until that point, I’ll reach down into my well of previously-used-ideas and scrape this one out.

I pretty much hate love songs. They’re virtually all contrived or forced in some way or too corny to take seriously. Occasionally, though, something will strike me about a love song and I’ll have to give it its proper credit. Usually its something that sounds different or perfectly captures a certain “kind” of love (you’ll see what I mean in a minute), but they’re all so sweet.

Thump, thump, thump

Clem Snide – Find Love

The first one’s Clem Snide’s “Find Love,” and is easily my favorite. When it was first introduced to me, I was told to think of a father singing to his infant daughter, which I still find to be the perfect image for it. While it may apply easily to other forms of love, it’s the fatherly kind that I think speaks to the true heart of it.

Clem Snide | Find Love

Common – The Light

This will actually be the first hip-hop song I put on this blog. Common’s definitely one of my favorite rappers, and its not too often that you hear a proper love song in rap, but Common blows this one out of the water. People talk a lot about hip hop objectifying women, and while I agree with the sentiment in most cases, I think that this song proves that the genre is capable of deep thought and respect when it comes to women. It’s part of why I liked Wale’s debut so much, as he had several songs dedicated to the troubles of women which is rare enough in hip hop to be engaging on subject matter alone. Anyway, enough digressing:

My favorite line: “I never call you my bitch, or even my boo/There’s so much in a name and so much more in you.”

LYRICS

Common|The Light

Of Montreal – Tim, I Wish You Were Born a Girl

Next up is Of Montreal’s entirely off-kilter “Tim, I Wish You Were Born a Girl.” This is one of those songs that I can’t help liking because it approaches the subject matter from such a vastly different perspective than is ever seen. Honestly, I don’t even think the song is that gay, it’s more a lament of the fact that he can’t find a girl that matches him as well as his friend. Still, the song runs off about the sweetest series of actions that I’ve ever heard in a song regardless of gender.

Of Montreal|Tim, I Wish You Were Born a Girl

The Dodos – Undeclared

Next up is The Dodos and their child-like lament of unrequited  and undisplayed love, “Undeclared.” I think this is one of those songs that perfectly captures a “kind” of love, that is love that is, well, undeclarable. Check out the lyrics for reference. I have a feeling this is the song Charlie Brown would have written for the Little Red-Haired Girl had he grown up into a slightly angsty teenager.

And anything that makes me think of Peanuts incidentally is usually a good thing.

The Dodos|Undeclared

The Magnetic Fields – The Book of Love

This was actually the song used for the real finale of “Scrubs,” but it was a cover by Peter Gabriel who, I think, kind of missed the point of the song. His version was overblown and melodramatic which hurts the its “sweetness,” but the original is sparing and spacious, and Stephen Merrit’s deep voice has the subtle ring of sadness that gives the song a little more emotion, not to mention he penned some pretty awesome lyrics. But I’ll let you listen, if you haven’t before.

The Magnetic Fields|The Book of Love

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sweetest Damn Love Songs I Have

  1. Kate says:

    This is my favorite post so far. I want all of these songs.

Leave a Reply

